Club Olimpico de Totana

Date: Wednesday Jul 27 2011
Ground: Campo Municipal de Juan Cayuela
Comp: Pre-season Friendly
Match: Club Olimpico de Totana 0 FC Cartagena 7 HT: 0-4

ATT: circa 400
Additional: Entrance €10.00 adults €3 children, Programme NONE

Campo Juan Cayuela in pictures

Ground Statistics (marks out of ten, maximum 40)
Character 8, Structures/Terracing 8, Hospitality 6, Backdrop/Scenery or aesthetics for larger stadiums 8
Total 30

Another friendly for Cartagena, in the area (well more or less!) we were holidaying. This one was the town of Totana, about 35 miles west of Murcia, home to a preferente (Conference) side Club Olimpico de Totana. Very nice ground for the level they’re playing at – I believe they have played at higher levels very recently, like the Tercera (Div 2) league.

Main stand comprising covered and oncovered seats

Cartagena showed their superior class from the outset, tantalising Totana with some nice passing. Totana rarely had the ball and when they did it was for some hurried and staccato attempts at possession and penetration which seldom bothered the inactive Cartagena keeper. The away side could’ve had ten, had they finished a few sitters and scored their penalty mid way through the second half.

It was another lovely evening, this time a later kick off at nine, but still t-shirt weather. Campo Juan de Cayuela has a fine main stand plus another temporary stand opposite as well as the Spanish trademark chunky terracing for sitting on.

5 thoughts on “Club Olimpico de Totana

  1. I think your site is absolutely brilliant. Like yourself I am becoming more and more drawn to the charm of non-professional football the older i get (I’m 55). Although I’m a keen Stoke City supporter, I still follow non-league teams like Seighford, Eccleshall and some of the local pub teams. Congratulations on producing such a wonderful resource for the non-leage follower. I shall visit here often.

    1. Richard,
      It’s very kind of you to say so. It means a lot because I was thinking of stopping blogging, wondering if I was the only one reading it! I too am becoming a keen Stoke supporter thanks in large part to my nine year old son, who is Stoke mad. He hasn’t been to many games but he seems to be a lucky mascot having seen them beat Bolton 5-0, Brighton 3-0 and FC Thun the other night 4-1, among his few games! It’s really exciting times at Stoke City at the moment and it’s very infectious – I think they’re a cracking club.
      I was thinking of going to Stafford Town this afternoon. It’s very addictive watching local non league and very cheap too.

      Anyway, great to hear from you, and let me know when you’re next at a ground in the area.

      David.

  2. Will do mate. Going to Fuertaventura in November so I’m hoping to catch the island team if they’re playing at home; I’m still trying to find the fixtures! Like you, my son (although much older than yours) is a Stoke fan and season ticket holder. I used to play for Eccleshall when I was younger. I found your site quite by chance whilst trying to find out where a local team were playing. It is a brilliant resource and must take a lot of work; but I for one hope that you keep it going! There is something magical about non-league football grounds in my opinion.

    Rich

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.