AFC Telford United

 

 

Date: Saturday Oct 02 2010
Ground: New Buck’s Head
Comp: Conference North
Match: AFC Telford United 1 Worcester City 1 HT: 0-1

ATT: 2,508
Additional: Entrance £11.00, Programme £2.00, Coffee/Tea £1.50
New Buck’s Head in pictures

Really smart new ground worthy of the league. However, the trip was marred by silly pettiness and over zealous stewarding. Kids have to go through a different turnstile to their parents – how utterly ridiculous. Also, at this level you shouldn’t even notice stewards; it is the Conference North after all – not the Premier League, nor even the top non-league league. However, they were abundant and very unfriendly. One told me to stop taking videos (I wasn’t). When I told him I was just taking photos I thought he was going to offer to settle it in the car park. So what if I was taking videos?! They were staring at the crowd with unwarranted concern and hostility, it really was overkill – every now and then you’d see one sprinting along the terrace, like they were on an SAS manouevre. Get some perspective. I know there was a very impressive 2,000 + crowd but this is non-league and the only idiots in the crowd were the ones stewarding it.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.